Eggplant Fries

Oliver Twist once asked: “Please Sir, may I have some more?”.

Those famous words are all I feel like saying when I finish a plate of these eggplant fries.

French fries, pommes allumettes, frites, papas…. So many languages all trying to show their love for the same dish.

Although I consider pasta as my main comfort food, french fries are not far behind….when they’re well made. There is nothing I hate more than biting into a frie with little taste or worse; when it only tastes of grease.

As much as I would love to say that this recipe came straight from my head, tis not true. It’s actually thanks to a friend of mine. We were walking down the street and she said: “Tonight, I’m having eggplant fries for dinner”. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. It was like a call from the heavens. I immediately asked her for the recipes, but I forgot it many times. Thankfully, she calmed sent me the recipe over and over again, until finally, I said to myself: “You really must write this down”. So I did.

I literally cannot get enough of these.They are baked with breadcrumbs and parmesan, and they taste wonderful with the dip. Serve them with….just about anything! I literally cannot get enough of these.

The best part? They are RIDICULOUSLY easy to make.

Enough said.

Ingredients:

1 eggplant

1/2 cup breadcrumbs

5 tbsp parmesan cheese

Salt

Pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

2 eggs

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Beat your eggs in one bowl.

Combine flour, salt, pepper, and Parmesan in another bowl.

Cut the eggplants into strips. They can be as fine or as thick as you’d like, but remember: if they thin, they must be baked for less time or they will burn!

Dip your eggplant pieces in the egg and then in the dry ingredients. Make sure you cover them well or they will not be as tasty. 

If you need to add more breadcrumbs halfway, that’s normal. 

Place the eggplant on 2 non stick cookie sheets.

Bake for 20 minutes, flipping halfway. 

While they are baking, prepare your dipping sauce:

Mix 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt with 3 tbsp of garlic powder.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Eggplant Fries”

Leave a Reply

