Beet and Feta Salad

I was not always a big vegetable fan. In fact, I really wasn’t. I liked carrots, broccoli,corn and peas. But then I grew up, and I realized just how delicious vegetables can be! I have to thank my mother for that: she always cooked healthy, nutritious meals with at least one vegetable in it or served on the side.

This salad is the fruit of my mother’s culinary imagination, and I have decided to share with you all, with her permission of course.

This salad is delicious with pecans in it, but that’s just an option. It’s an ideal side for beef or chicken, or as a lovely and colourful lunch.

For 4 people, you will need:

4-6 beets

1/2 cup reduced sodium feta, crumbled up

Arugula

Salt

Pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

Pecans (optional)

First, you will need to cook your beets. You can do so in the microwave.  Put them in a corning ware and heat them 5 minutes at a time. I cannot tell you exactly how long the beets will take to cook because it depends on their size. Go at it 5 minutes at time and pierce them with a fork. Once they feel soft, you can take them out, peel them with a knife, and let them cool.

Now, combine the arugula and the olive oil in your salad bowl.

Once the beets are cooled, dice them and add them on the arugula.

Sprinkle the feta on the top of the salad.

Decorate with pepper. You may not need any salt because feta is quite salty on its own.

Enjoy! xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

